Uncategorized

Fish Tank Panels

Hello! So the wonderful blanket I am crocheting has taken a back seat. The weather is nice and my thoughts are far away from wooly blankets right now. But don’t worry, I will get back to it. As promised I am keeping a journal of the new projects I start and vow to see them to the end. I won’t let me readers down!

Speaking of new projects. I am in the process of making panels for my fish tank. A family member of mine gave me and my husband a free 50 gallon fish tank. It came on a metal stand. Although the stand is very nice you can see everything underneath. All the cords, all the fish food and cleaners. It’s not very nice.

20170620_194026
Current state of fish tank

Now I have very limited skills when it comes to building and carpentry and after admiring endless pinterest pictures of DIY wood siding and faux rock siding I had to put my phone away and come up with a new plan. So what is the pegcitygirl to do? Fabric panels!

20170620_192501.jpg

Here I have started constructing panels for the sides of my fish tank. This is the back of one of the side panels. I bought some strong ceramic magnets from my local hardware store to attach them. The fabric is a little funky but the tones are neutral so I am hoping it will blend well with my decor but still be interesting.

Well I’m off to put my sewing skills to the test. Wish me luck and as always I will keep you posted…unless its an epic fail. Then we will never speak of it again. After we laugh at the pictures that is.

Take care ☺

Leave a Reply

